Temperance’s Trial
By Hallee Bridgeman
Published by Olivia Kimbrell Press
105 pages

Back Cover: Known only by her code name, TEMPERANCE, she is trained to operate a wireless radio and returns to her beloved France. With a new identity, Marie clandestinely communicates vital intelligence directly back to Headquarters but unwillingly attracts the attention and apparent adoration of a handsome but ruthless Nazi officer, Oberleutnant Leopold Schafer.

As the H-hour to execute their daring mission draws ever closer, Marie plays a deadly game of cat-and-mouse with the unrelenting and merciless young Lieutenant Schäfer and the Nazi soldiers under his command. 

Review: This series is about a special team of operatives called, “The Virtues.” The author states, “Every story in the Virtue and Valor series was inspired by real people and real events” This is the first novel in the series taken from historical events in 1941 Great Britain. A special war department assembles an experimental exclusively female cohort of combat operatives, hand-picked and trained.

This series kicks off with a young girl named Marie Gilbert code named Temperance. The team was made up of seven women from different walks of life, training, backgrounds and social classes. These brave women come together in their faith to help the underground work in fighting the enemy in WWII. Each will rick everything to get the job done.

Marie and Edward leave their father to join the war effort. Their father was arrested for hiding Jews. Marie says, “Edward, how can we leave him?”
“Because he said we must!.”..”She’d never felt so alone in her life. Then she remembered – She was never alone. Whispering to God as she thanked him for safe arrival and prayed for continued protection.”

These brave women knew the risks. They could be tortured to obtain information. “They had courage, faith and valor – As their plan is laid to engineer the largest prison break of allied POW’s in history; the Nazis capture the radio operator Marie. It will take the cohesive team work of these women to save her life before they break her and bring the force of the third Reich to bear.”

I think this series would be great for anyone interested in WWI and for those who homeschool. Not only does this author do a good job of bringing history to life through these remarkable women but there is bonus material that helps takes readers deeper into history and the war effort.

The author gives details about the real person that inspired the story. In this first novel based on Eileen Mary “didi” Nearne. She’s twenty three and served as the wireless radio operator. There is a picture of her and more details about her life. The author also lists key words and Phrases that the French, Germans and British used. They were helpful in understanding the circumstances better. There is a section about the vehicles used back then. I liked the six discussion questions that the author included in the back. They will help spark lively discussions in your group.

There are six other books in this series. The titles are 2. Homeland’s Hope, 3. Charity’s Code, 4. A Parcel for Prudence, 5. Grace’s Ground War, 6. Flight of Faith, 7. Mission of Mercy. Each of these books delves into the life of a female operative doing her part in fighting the enemy in WWII. If you love history and/or want to share this with your children this is a series for you!


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of the book from The Book Club Network   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”.

Nora St Laurent
TBCN Where Book Fun Begins
Book Fun Magazine
Book Club Network blog


Post a Comment