You’re the One that I Want
By Susan May Warren
Published by Tyndale
353 Pages

Back Cover: Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter.

Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after―especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama―and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

But Owen is more than the sum of his mistakes, a truth both he and Scotty discover when she escorts both brothers to Deep Haven as part of her new job on the Anchorage police force. Thrust into an unfamiliar world of family, faith, and fresh starts, Scotty begins to see potential for a happy ending . . . if she’s brave enough to embrace it.

REVIEW: I cheered and felt sad when I finished reading this heart-felt, wonderful conclusion to an amazing series that answers questions like. What does a Christian family look like? How do they put their faith into action? And was this really the last book in the series? LOL!

I like what the author said about the Christiansen’s, “When I conceived this series, I wanted a story about real people dealing with real issues of faith and family. I didn’t want to shy away from the mistakes but to tell a story about a family that faces its share of darkness…and discovers a God who is standing at the doorway.” Each book focuses on one of the Christiansen adult children.

I’ve waited to read Owen’s story for six books now. I’m happy to report this author pulls out all the stops in showing his journey; I was spell bound enjoying every second of his story. This novel starts out on the stormy seas of Alaska. Owen has tried to run from his former life and has become one of the fishermen on a crab ship. That’s where he meets Scotty McFlynn he thinks, “Finally he met a girl who didn’t see him for his past…she only saw a drifter, a hard worker, a guy trying to make sense of the cards life dealt him.”

Scott was solely raised by her father. She called him Red. He taught her everything she knew about fishing and life. She tells Owen, “You know what being Red’s daughter has taught me? That there is no room for crying, Life happens. People die. There are no fairy tales or happy endings. It’s the way it is, and if I want to survive, I can’t let people get close enough to hurt me!”

She was rough and tough. She had to be to survive the sea and a boat load of young men on the ocean for a month.

Casper has set out on a mission to find his brother Owen. He has issues that need to be settled. His brother was the only thing standing in the way of him marrying Raina. His brother had no idea that Layla was his daughter. He’d already missed a few months of this little one’s life tracking down Owen. He loved that little girl like she was his own and he wanted to marry her mother.

Things get messy when the brothers finally meet and start to head back to Evergreen (their family) Resort. Casper has had months to plan what he’s wanted to say and Owen is shocked to see his brother again. Casper meets Scotty who tells Casper a thing or two about his brother he found hard to believe.

Casper, Owen and Scotty learn about faith and how to put it into practice as they lean on God’s strength in the process. Owen says to Scotty, “Faith is reaching out, believing in what you can’t see…When I first got hurt I wanted nothing to do with God. Later, I couldn’t face the colossal mess I’d made of my life. But then I realized I couldn’t fix myself, that I needed help (I realize)…I’m not a total screw up, or if I am God can help me fix it.”

The author says, “God is a pursuer, and even as we push him away, he says, “You are not alone. If you will allow me, I will fix this…It’s easier to endure the self-flogging, the shame, the guilt, because, we know we deserve it.” She goes on to say, “Who am I beyond the Prodigal? How does someone face their past and move on to what God has for us….We are the redeemed. The forgiven. The sons and daughters of the king. Suddenly we can rise, look forward into a new dawn, glorious and rose gold, full of promise. And it is this view that changes everything.” Amen!

I like this author’s heart and her writing style. I wasn’t raise in a Christian family. I found this family dynamic very interesting and insightful in how this family with adult children work together, were loyal to each other and how they tried to show unconditional love the best they could.

This novel can be read as a standalone but it’s much more rewarding when you’ve read the whole series because you’d have seen Owen at his worst and realize how far he’d grown and how his family had grown along with him. I enjoyed hanging out with this loud, fun family that lives life large with each other and in their adventures. I loved how this story is not preachy but this author makes the reader think about their family challenges wondering how they’d react in that situation.

This author quickly makes you feel part of the Christenson family. You’ll find yourself wanting to re-read this series just for fun. It’s also a wonderful book club pick. This author includes 12 questions to help create lively discussions for your group. This novel and this series are ones you won’t soon forget. I highly recommend this book and the entire series.

ABOUT AUTHOR: Growing up in Minneapolis and attending the U of MN, I learned to love city life, although I'm a woodsy girl at heart. Or maybe I'm an adventurer -- having lived and traveled all over the world, including Siberia Russia as a missionary for eight years. Probably that's why my characters can't sit still, and seem to get into one scrape after another -- they're too much like me! I love God, my family, my country, my church, and feel privileged every day to be able to write stories.

With over 1 million books sold, critically acclaimed novelist Susan May Warren is the Christy, RITA and Carol award-winning author of over forty-five novels with Tyndale, Barbour, Steeple Hill and Summerside Press. Known for her compelling plots and unforgettable characters, Susan has written contemporary and historical romances, romantic-suspense, thrillers, and Christmas novellas.

With books translated into eight languages, many of her novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA's Inspirational Reader's Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. She's a three time RITA finalist and an eight time Christy Finalist.

Susan is also a nationally acclaimed writing coach, teaching at conferences around the nation and winner of the 2009 American Christian Fiction Writers Mentor of the Year award. She loves to help people launch their writing careers and is the founder of and, a writing website that helps authors get published and stay published. She's also the author of the popular writing method, The Story Equation.

Disclosure of Material Connection: #AD Tyndale
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through The Book Club Network  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”

Nora St. Laurent
TBCN Where Book Fun Begins!
The Book Club Network blog

Book Fun Magazine 


Post a Comment