BOOK FUN MAGAZINE - FREE READ

LOVE A GOOD MYSTERY? FASCINATED BY ILLUSIONISTS? Check this out!

The Illusionist’s Apprentice
By Kristy Cambron
Published by Thomas Nelson
ISBN#B1HAK32UC
368 Pages

ABOUT BOOK: Not all illusions happen on the stage.
Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to

escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life’s stage


REVIEW: The opening scene is that of a famed medium named Horace Stapleton whose hosting a defying death ceremony for the public. At that event are two agents Elliot Mathews and his partner Connor Finnegan. They are there to discover the truth hidden behind the illusion. Another audience member is Wren Lockhard, who is a Vaude performer, and has a few secrets of her own besides those of Harry Houdini; she’s not willing to share. She used to be Harry’s assistant.

Both agents Elliot and Connor are at the event to discover the truth hidden behind the illusion. Things go crazy and they end up looking into more than how the trick was done; which has them knocking on Wren’s front door.

I was excited to read this novel because I was touched deeply and spell-bound by two other books I’d read by this author titled The Butterfly and the Violin and A Sparrow in Terezin. I read up until chapter nine. I concluded the fact I couldn’t get into the book was because I was unfamiliar with what an illusionist apprentice does and just as unfamiliar with Harry Houdini.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the BookLook site. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”

Nora St. Laurent
TBCN Where Book Fun Begins! www.bookfun.org
The Book Club Network blog www.psalm516.blogspot.com  
Book Fun Magazine

0 comments:

Post a Comment